[Lights, Camera, Action]

Home    Forums    Tutorials    Search    Books    Links 

Windows Movie Maker tips, tutorials, forums and more...



 
Windows Movie Maker Home   Search   Login   Register   Member List  
Windows Movie Maker  > Getting Started with Windows Movie Maker  > Re: ?    
Previous Thread :: Next Thread 
 Author Thread: ?
Quality is not online. Last active: 8/24/2006 1:42:17 AM Quality
Joined: 15 May 2006
Total Posts: 28
 
?
Posted: 16 May 2006 03:10 AM
How can i get 2 audio files to plat at the same time such as theme music during a shootout i need to play the music and sound effects also
fishycomics is not online. Last active: 8/3/2016 1:46:49 PM fishycomics
Top 25 Poster
Joined: 31 Jul 2005
Total Posts: 7305
 
Re: ?
Posted: 16 May 2006 03:50 AM
a few ways

Please post your question in a thread that we can ansswe ty/////////

you may combine two vid clips mute one add the sound
or post one on the narrate area an or add to aud line and drag in but you may have to use a split



ALL YOUR XMLS IN THIS LINK===> tranistions and effects in alphabetical order <===All your XMLS IN THIS LINK!
.
.


thank you in advance If I never say
considerate_guy is not online. Last active: 8/7/2015 5:49:08 PM considerate_guy
movies.blainesville.com
Top 25 Poster
Forum Moderator
Joined: 23 Mar 2005
Total Posts: 24219
 
Re: ?
Posted: 16 May 2006 04:01 AM
There is only one track for added audio/music. So if you want to add both sound effects and music, you must do it in two passes. In one project, do all your edits and add one layer of audio (say the sound effects). Save this as a movie and then reimport this movie. In a new project, put this movie on the timeline and add the next layer of audio (the music, for example). Save this final movie.

-=Blaine=-

Blaine
Movie Maker (Custom Titles, Effects. etc.)Cool
WMM 6.0 on Windows 7 or 8
YouTube videos
Quality is not online. Last active: 8/24/2006 1:42:17 AM Quality
Joined: 15 May 2006
Total Posts: 28
 
Re: ?
Posted: 16 May 2006 04:24 AM
Thats... 1 more .. um how can i make it wide screen wen i emprt it and whats the best quality?
Thanks!
considerate_guy is not online. Last active: 8/7/2015 5:49:08 PM considerate_guy
movies.blainesville.com
Top 25 Poster
Forum Moderator
Joined: 23 Mar 2005
Total Posts: 24219
 
Re: ?
Posted: 16 May 2006 04:49 AM
If you originally filmed in widescreen mode on your camcorder, then just import as usual but make sure that your set WMM to know that you are working on a 16:9 project. (Tools > Options > Advanced). Set the aspect ratio to 16:9.

If your video is 4:3, then all you can do is crop it in another program and then import it, or use something like Rehan's PIP+ package to scale your video by 33% vertically and leave it the same in the horizontal. This will essentially crop off the top and bottom of your 4:3 video. Be sure to again have your project settings to be 16:9.

Finally, if you just want pseudo widescreen (mask your 4:3 video with letterbox borders), then search these forums for 'letterbox'.

-=Blaine=-

Blaine
Movie Maker (Custom Titles, Effects. etc.)Cool
WMM 6.0 on Windows 7 or 8
YouTube videos
mimomoviemaker is not online. Last active: 6/20/2010 6:49:15 AM mimomoviemaker
Top 25 Poster
Joined: 14 May 2005
Total Posts: 1375
 
Re: ?
Posted: 16 May 2006 03:23 PM
There is an article here about trying to use multiple audio tracks.
Quality is not online. Last active: 8/24/2006 1:42:17 AM Quality
Joined: 15 May 2006
Total Posts: 28
 
Re: ?
Posted: 16 May 2006 05:00 PM
Thanks alot guys and umm wen i save my video file a$ DV-AVI pal its the clearest so if i put this on DVD now will it look exactly like that .. in other words is that the best quality i will get
considerate_guy is not online. Last active: 8/7/2015 5:49:08 PM considerate_guy
movies.blainesville.com
Top 25 Poster
Forum Moderator
Joined: 23 Mar 2005
Total Posts: 24219
 
Re: ?
Posted: 16 May 2006 05:23 PM
It should be close, but of course a DVD stores its video in MPEG-2 format, so it will have to apply compression. That may slightly degrade your video, but hopefully not enough to be noticeable.

-=Blaine=-

Blaine
Movie Maker (Custom Titles, Effects. etc.)Cool
WMM 6.0 on Windows 7 or 8
YouTube videos
Quality is not online. Last active: 8/24/2006 1:42:17 AM Quality
Joined: 15 May 2006
Total Posts: 28
 
Re: ?
Posted: 16 May 2006 05:37 PM
thanks ... by the way do you know like a site where i can learn how to perfect a scene such as a shoot out .. like lights out the guns or someone gets shot. how can i make it look like a person was hit?
considerate_guy is not online. Last active: 8/7/2015 5:49:08 PM considerate_guy
movies.blainesville.com
Top 25 Poster
Forum Moderator
Joined: 23 Mar 2005
Total Posts: 24219
 
Re: ?
Posted: 16 May 2006 05:45 PM
mightycoach.com has some tutorials.

Blaine
Movie Maker (Custom Titles, Effects. etc.)Cool
WMM 6.0 on Windows 7 or 8
YouTube videos
Quality is not online. Last active: 8/24/2006 1:42:17 AM Quality
Joined: 15 May 2006
Total Posts: 28
 
Re: ?
Posted: 16 May 2006 06:01 PM
thanks but it doent realy show me like any hollywood tricks or things of that nature...thanks anyway.
considerate_guy is not online. Last active: 8/7/2015 5:49:08 PM considerate_guy
movies.blainesville.com
Top 25 Poster
Forum Moderator
Joined: 23 Mar 2005
Total Posts: 24219
 
Re: ?
Posted: 16 May 2006 06:25 PM
Try this section on mightycoach.com...

-=Blaine=-

Blaine
Movie Maker (Custom Titles, Effects. etc.)Cool
WMM 6.0 on Windows 7 or 8
YouTube videos
Quality is not online. Last active: 8/24/2006 1:42:17 AM Quality
Joined: 15 May 2006
Total Posts: 28
 
Re: ?
Posted: 17 May 2006 12:41 AM
im a beginer as you can probley tell but umm if i buy a super 8 camera #1 can i load the footage rite on to my pc and adit it on WMM and is it goin to look like film or a movie? becuz im confused about the whole thing but i know i want something thats gonna look like quality i know lightin is asentail but is super 8 film or what do i get
Quality is not online. Last active: 8/24/2006 1:42:17 AM Quality
Joined: 15 May 2006
Total Posts: 28
 
Re: ?
Posted: 17 May 2006 12:48 PM
?
considerate_guy is not online. Last active: 8/7/2015 5:49:08 PM considerate_guy
movies.blainesville.com
Top 25 Poster
Forum Moderator
Joined: 23 Mar 2005
Total Posts: 24219
 
Re: ?
Posted: 17 May 2006 01:25 PM
Super 8 is an analog format, correct? That's much harder to get into WMM since you need to do an analog to digital conversion. This requires a separate capture device to do this. But once you get the video into WMM, you can edit it into a movie with titles, music, sound effects, credits, etc.

Also, if you have a *Digital* 8 camcorder, I think you can connect that via Firewire and play your Super 8 tapes in it. That's another option to consider, if you have the right camcorder.

-=Blaine=-

Blaine
Movie Maker (Custom Titles, Effects. etc.)Cool
WMM 6.0 on Windows 7 or 8
YouTube videos
Quality is not online. Last active: 8/24/2006 1:42:17 AM Quality
Joined: 15 May 2006
Total Posts: 28
 
Re: ?
Posted: 17 May 2006 01:53 PM
thanks! So wich one will look like film in the end?
considerate_guy is not online. Last active: 8/7/2015 5:49:08 PM considerate_guy
movies.blainesville.com
Top 25 Poster
Forum Moderator
Joined: 23 Mar 2005
Total Posts: 24219
 
Re: ?
Posted: 17 May 2006 02:03 PM
You'll have to work hard to get a look like real film, regardless of what camcorder you use. It's partly the film grain and the shutter speed that make a film look like a film. Then there are all sorts of aspects such as the camera angles, steadiness of the shot from filming on a tripod or a dolly, steadycams, etc. Also, the music you use, the layering of audio tracks, etc. can all contribute to looking like a film.

The best way to learn is to try it out on your own and see what you like and you'll probably discover the areas where you want to make changes.

-=Blaine=-

Blaine
Movie Maker (Custom Titles, Effects. etc.)Cool
WMM 6.0 on Windows 7 or 8
YouTube videos
Quality is not online. Last active: 8/24/2006 1:42:17 AM Quality
Joined: 15 May 2006
Total Posts: 28
 
Re: ?
Posted: 17 May 2006 02:40 PM
Thanks alot you helped me alot... not just sayin' that
Quality is not online. Last active: 8/24/2006 1:42:17 AM Quality
Joined: 15 May 2006
Total Posts: 28
 
Re: ?
Posted: 19 May 2006 05:32 PM
how come i cant customize effects such as grain ... the grain is way too much is it possible to adjust it or is there another program i can use to do this ... i shot with a canon xl2 with a mini 35 and all i need for the film look is a lil grain.
desilucy is not online. Last active: 4/1/2012 9:16:25 PM desilucy
www.desilucy.com
Top 25 Poster
Forum Moderator
Joined: 11 Mar 2006
Total Posts: 7019
 
Re: ?
Posted: 19 May 2006 05:55 PM
quality,

Once you get your movie onto your computer, in MM under effects, you'll find 3 options for "aging" your movie. They are listed as "film age old, older, etc.. You can use those as one option.

Rich-Previous Microsoft Digital Media MVP
Having trouble with MM...check here: www.desilucy.com
Or here: www.papajohn.org
desilucy is not online. Last active: 4/1/2012 9:16:25 PM desilucy
www.desilucy.com
Top 25 Poster
Forum Moderator
Joined: 11 Mar 2006
Total Posts: 7019
 
Re: ?
Posted: 19 May 2006 05:58 PM
Don't know if you are planning to edit your movie with MM, (you didn't indicate in your post),
but I thought I'd offer that up as a possibility...

Rich-Previous Microsoft Digital Media MVP
Having trouble with MM...check here: www.desilucy.com
Or here: www.papajohn.org
Quality is not online. Last active: 8/24/2006 1:42:17 AM Quality
Joined: 15 May 2006
Total Posts: 28
 
Re: ?
Posted: 19 May 2006 06:56 PM
yes im planning on editing my movie on wmm i think the old film look would mess up my image i mean is there a free program i can run my video threw add alil grain and then edit in wmm? or any suggestion would be helpfull ... thanks
considerate_guy is not online. Last active: 8/7/2015 5:49:08 PM considerate_guy
movies.blainesville.com
Top 25 Poster
Forum Moderator
Joined: 23 Mar 2005
Total Posts: 24219
 
Re: ?
Posted: 19 May 2006 07:24 PM
You can create a custom effect that only adds a little noise (grain) to the picture:

<TransitionsAndEffects Version="1.0">
<Effects>
<EffectDLL guid="{ADEADEB8-E54B-11d1-9A72-0000F875EADE}">
<Effect name="Add Noise" iconid="1" comment="Add Noise Effect">
<Param name="NoiseFrequency" value="10" />
</Effect>
</EffectDLL>
</Effects>
</TransitionsAndEffects>


Copy this into Notepad and save in C:\Program Files\Movie Maker\Shared\AddOnTFX as addnoise.xml

You can set NoiseFrequency between 1 and 255.

Or I think VirtualDub has an 'Add Grain' filter or plug-in.

-=Blaine=-

Blaine
Movie Maker (Custom Titles, Effects. etc.)Cool
WMM 6.0 on Windows 7 or 8
YouTube videos
Quality is not online. Last active: 8/24/2006 1:42:17 AM Quality
Joined: 15 May 2006
Total Posts: 28
 
Re: ?
Posted: 19 May 2006 08:08 PM
Thanks alot but how do i set it ?
considerate_guy is not online. Last active: 8/7/2015 5:49:08 PM considerate_guy
movies.blainesville.com
Top 25 Poster
Forum Moderator
Joined: 23 Mar 2005
Total Posts: 24219
 
Re: ?
Posted: 19 May 2006 08:19 PM
You can't set it within WMM, but if you don't see enough grain/noise, you can edit the xml file in Notepad to change the value on the NoiseFrequency line and save it again. Then restart WMM.

I wasn't sure what value would give you the "grain" you wanted. And you may not even like the added noise so feel free to ignore this whole suggestion if you like.

-=Blaine=-

Blaine
Movie Maker (Custom Titles, Effects. etc.)Cool
WMM 6.0 on Windows 7 or 8
YouTube videos
Previous Thread :: Next Thread 
Goto to page:  Prev Next
 
Movie Maker Forums  > Windows Movie Maker  > Getting Started with Windows Movie Maker  > Re: ?