[Lights, Camera, Action]

Home    Forums    Tutorials    Search    Books    Links 

Windows Movie Maker tips, tutorials, forums and more...



 
Windows Movie Maker Home   Search   Login   Register   Member List  
Movie Maker Users Showcase  > Share Your XP Transitions and Effects!!  > Re: my version of an oldtv(using a photo editing program)    
Previous Thread :: Next Thread 
 Author Thread: my version of an oldtv(using a photo editing program)
dlk is not online. Last active: 7/2/2011 1:14:29 PM dlk
Top 25 Poster
Joined: 11 Sep 2004
Total Posts: 2027
 
my version of an oldtv(using a photo editing program)
Posted: 25 Feb 2006 01:41 PM
Advanced topic warning...requires knowledge of the following:
XML
PIP+
Title Overlays
Photo image editor

oldtv


I borrowed this image off google images...so you would have to get
your own. Copy the TV to 2 layers, cut out the screen on one layer,
leave only the screen on the 2nd layer. Then make the "screen only"
layer somewhat(50%) transparent. Save that image, use it as a title
overlay, then use PIP+ to resize/locate you video underneath the overlay.

dlk
MrZip is not online. Last active: 2/25/2006 7:52:57 PM MrZip
Joined: 28 Aug 2005
Total Posts: 8
 
Re: my version of an oldtv(using a photo editing program)
Posted: 25 Feb 2006 07:52 PM
Great job Dave... You insire me watching each of your effects. Keep it up!
Kingjad is not online. Last active: 1/24/2007 1:22:54 PM Kingjad
Joined: 15 Aug 2005
Total Posts: 52
 
Re: my version of an oldtv(using a photo editing program)
Posted: 25 Feb 2006 08:54 PM
"then use PIP+ to resize/locate you video underneath the overlay."

Yeah...I'm on to this bit, I have PIP and I have a bit of knowledge in everything required...still, I'm an ignorant fecker hehe. How do I do this bit, could you use yours as an example?
dlk is not online. Last active: 7/2/2011 1:14:29 PM dlk
Top 25 Poster
Joined: 11 Sep 2004
Total Posts: 2027
 
Re: my version of an oldtv(using a photo editing program)
Posted: 25 Feb 2006 09:19 PM
Thanks mrzip.
King...I assume you are talking about the XML code for PIP+?
You need PIP+ not just PIP, but the free version will work for this.
You can also use PIP+ to overlay the image instead of a title overlay
I will post the XML and the image, but with the warning that this is
not my image, and is intended for demo purposes only.
Probably won't keep someone from getting hacked off at me,
but at least I tried to be a good guy. Hold on...I will post it all in a bit.

dlk
Kingjad is not online. Last active: 1/24/2007 1:22:54 PM Kingjad
Joined: 15 Aug 2005
Total Posts: 52
 
Re: my version of an oldtv(using a photo editing program)
Posted: 25 Feb 2006 09:22 PM
I have my own image - I know your old image, just google 'old tv' in google images.

Got PIP Plus, sorry I wasn't clearer.

I have the television as the title overlay already, I merely took the jumbotron xml and replaced it so it showed the tv instead, everything worked there - basically, the resizing and relocating bit's where I get lost. No need to post the image, and we all know you're a good guy.
fishycomics is not online. Last active: 8/3/2016 1:46:49 PM fishycomics
Top 25 Poster
Joined: 31 Jul 2005
Total Posts: 7305
 
Re: my version of an oldtv(using a photo editing program)
Posted: 25 Feb 2006 09:35 PM
I'm bad:

so here's a pic from yahoo



ALL YOUR XMLS IN THIS LINK===> tranistions and effects in alphabetical order <===All your XMLS IN THIS LINK!
.
.


thank you in advance If I never say
dlk is not online. Last active: 7/2/2011 1:14:29 PM dlk
Top 25 Poster
Joined: 11 Sep 2004
Total Posts: 2027
 
Re: my version of an oldtv(using a photo editing program)
Posted: 25 Feb 2006 09:46 PM
Ok...the jumbotron title overlay will work, with a different file
name of course. Sounds like you got that down pat.
The tv image I used is unique. The screen is semi transparent and
located in a specific zone. You don't have to use a semi transparent
TV screen, I just did it to try to simulate a real screen, with glare.
This XML would locate the picture under TV screen, and you probably
need to adjust it for your needs. If you save it as is, and fire it up, you
will get a good idea of how it looks. The 0.32,0.22 values will move it
on the horizontal and vertical respectively. The 0.30,0.30 values will
control the size. As you can see, you could work with a more rectangular
screen if needed. The 0.00 value is just the time value. This window
does not change size over time, so I did not add any more lines.

<TransitionsAndEffects Version="1.0" SpecialIconFileID="1033" SpecialIconResourceID="101">
<Effects>
<EffectDLL guid="{0BEDE179-3361-4eea-9058-11CBB1739D50}">
<Effect name="a PIP Plus Effect - resize for tv" iconid="0">
<Param name="RectA" value=" 0.00, 0.32,0.22,0.30,0.30" />
<Param name="Background" value="0x000000" />
</Effect>
</EffectDLL>
</Effects>
</TransitionsAndEffects>


dlk
Kingjad is not online. Last active: 1/24/2007 1:22:54 PM Kingjad
Joined: 15 Aug 2005
Total Posts: 52
 
Re: my version of an oldtv(using a photo editing program)
Posted: 25 Feb 2006 10:28 PM
Nice yin, with some tweaking I got mine done for size. Here is the end result with a different television image:

http://media.putfile.com/old-tv-goal

Thank you very much again dlk!
dlk is not online. Last active: 7/2/2011 1:14:29 PM dlk
Top 25 Poster
Joined: 11 Sep 2004
Total Posts: 2027
 
Re: my version of an oldtv(using a photo editing program)
Posted: 25 Feb 2006 10:34 PM
Nicely done, quite realistic!

dlk
Kingjad is not online. Last active: 1/24/2007 1:22:54 PM Kingjad
Joined: 15 Aug 2005
Total Posts: 52
 
Re: my version of an oldtv(using a photo editing program)
Posted: 25 Feb 2006 10:46 PM
Thanks - the image work was a bit rough (didn't spend too long making centre bit transparent, not going for accuracy yet - seeing if I could actually do it first).

I hope to learn how to make effects and transitions, early days yet but I've still got a lot to learn.
dlk is not online. Last active: 7/2/2011 1:14:29 PM dlk
Top 25 Poster
Joined: 11 Sep 2004
Total Posts: 2027
 
Re: my version of an oldtv(using a photo editing program)
Posted: 25 Feb 2006 11:04 PM
Another trick you could do... the old "I was there" trick.
Film yourself beside a table, watching the table as if it has
a TV on it, and raise you hands shouting "goal, goal"
If you have an older TV, even better...just film yourself
watching it. Use a tripod, and be careful with your hands.

Load that up in MM2, and take a snap shot of it.
Load that snapshot into your photo editing program.
Load your TV image into photo editor.
Edit your TV image to make the background transparent.
Move the TV around so it looks like it was on your table top.
If you had the TV....you can skip that stuff of course.
Once the TV looks like it is on the table...remove the clip with the
table(that was just used for a locator)...and now you have
a floating TV. Do the stuff to make the screen transparent and
save that image as a PNG.
Now repeat all the steps you did for the 1st movie you made,
but you need to use a PIP+ transition to put the soccer window
on top of the video of you by the table. After you add the TV overlay,
tada...you were there watching the winning goal.

dlk

TheDoctor is not online. Last active: 6/23/2017 6:46:43 PM TheDoctor
Top 25 Poster
Joined: 10 Jan 2006
Total Posts: 2199
 
Re: my version of an oldtv(using a photo editing program)
Posted: 26 Feb 2006 06:43 AM
dlk that was a lovely movie, but I did not think you guys were ALLOWED to make fun of the star bangled spanner thing!!

dum dad dar dar dar dum -- dum dad dar dar dar dum [just luv that tune, way better than some loser jumps in a billabong like we have in Oz]

My New APP
fishycomics is not online. Last active: 8/3/2016 1:46:49 PM fishycomics
Top 25 Poster
Joined: 31 Jul 2005
Total Posts: 7305
 
Re: my version of an oldtv(using a photo editing program)
Posted: 26 Feb 2006 08:42 AM
not just a tv screen:5 secs
Dlk. I am not stirring the pot on this one Lol.

I need to learn how to move the 0.30 horizontal, and verticle but b4 i do that i need a lot of hours to practice.

I grabbed a vintage car over the tv pic. I used my photo editing, and again got a transparant section. loaded it into my other 3rd party software title, and placed my pic in pic a lot easier then m.s.w.m.m. then I go into wmm, and load as an overlay, and load my vid both align (spell check) perfect, and I completed the task.. by other ways and means.
thank you for the Xml. and there are many possabilities to making an oldie style vid.



ALL YOUR XMLS IN THIS LINK===> tranistions and effects in alphabetical order <===All your XMLS IN THIS LINK!
.
.


thank you in advance If I never say
Kingjad is not online. Last active: 1/24/2007 1:22:54 PM Kingjad
Joined: 15 Aug 2005
Total Posts: 52
 
Re: my version of an oldtv(using a photo editing program)
Posted: 26 Feb 2006 09:07 AM
Right, I know how to do this part and I'm thrilled to bits, yippee and such.

Next I'm trying to learn how to have it close in on the television until the clip fills the screen - sure it can be done but just a question of figuring it all out.

And keep in mind folks, doesn't have to be an old TV style vid - get a pic of a brand new TV or a computer monitor instead and get creative!
Previous Thread :: Next Thread 
Goto to page:  Prev Next
 
Movie Maker Forums  > Movie Maker Users Showcase  > Share Your XP Transitions and Effects!!  > Re: my version of an oldtv(using a photo editing program)