[Lights, Camera, Action]

Home    Forums    Tutorials    Search    Books    Links 

Windows Movie Maker tips, tutorials, forums and more...



 
Windows Movie Maker Home   Search   Login   Register   Member List  
Windows Movie Maker  > Transitions, Effects and Titles  > Re: static splits with borders    
Previous Thread :: Next Thread 
 Author Thread: static splits with borders
binderyman is not online. Last active: 1/31/2010 6:26:37 AM binderyman
Joined: 01 Jan 2006
Total Posts: 45
 
static splits with borders
Posted: 01 Jan 2006 07:49 PM
Well, after watching 24 for 100 straight hours this weekend, I now feel a need for split videos for my next movie.

Using Rehans freezing split video effects, I made one.

<Transition name="Split with border" iconid="41">
<Param name="MaskNum" value="3,6" />
<Param name="BorderWidth" value="5" />
<Param name="Progress" value="0.5" />
</Transition>

I used MaskNum 3,6 (upper left, lower left) because it just seemed logical; it worked.

I tried this to make it 90 degrees (upper right, lower right) to the first, but...well it doesn't work.

<Transition name="Horiz split with border" iconid="40">
<Param name="MaskNum" value="4,5" />
<Param name="BorderWidth" value="5" />
<Param name="Progress" value="0.5" />
</Transition>

Saline Entertainment Television (SETV)

A man with too much time on his hands productions

NLA-Entertainment
considerate_guy is not online. Last active: 8/7/2015 5:49:08 PM considerate_guy
movies.blainesville.com
Top 25 Poster
Forum Moderator
Joined: 23 Mar 2005
Total Posts: 24219
 
Re: static splits with borders
Posted: 01 Jan 2006 08:16 PM
Is this what you are looking for?

<TransitionsAndEffects Version="1.0">
<Transitions>
<TransitionDLL guid="{DE75D012-7A65-11D2-8CEA-00A0C9441E20}">
<Transition name="@SPLIT: Vertical with border" iconid="40">
<Param name="MaskNum" value="1" />
<Param name="BorderWidth" value="5" />
<Param name="Progress" value="0.5" />
</Transition>
<Transition name="@SPLIT: Horizontal with border" iconid="41">
<Param name="MaskNum" value="2" />
<Param name="BorderWidth" value="5" />
<Param name="Progress" value="0.5" />
</Transition>
</TransitionDLL>
</Transitions>
</TransitionsAndEffects>


First, you can't combine masknum values, so I'm not sure what the 3,6 and 4,5 meant.
For a listing of masknum values, check the DirectShow SMPTE Wipe Transitions pages on MSDN.

Another good thing to do is to remove the 'Progress' value to test, and see what the wipe does. Once you know what it does, you can freeze the wipe at any point to get the split you want. For example if you wanted a video in the upper left, but not the full quarter of the screen, you could freeze it at 0.33, instead.

Experiment, and if you have more questions, post a follow-up.

-=Blaine=-

Blaine
Movie Maker (Custom Titles, Effects. etc.)Cool
WMM 6.0 on Windows 7 or 8
YouTube videos
binderyman is not online. Last active: 1/31/2010 6:26:37 AM binderyman
Joined: 01 Jan 2006
Total Posts: 45
 
Re: static splits with borders
Posted: 01 Jan 2006 08:49 PM
Many thanks.

I was actually just playing with combining masknums; I guess the first one working was a fluke.

Saline Entertainment Television (SETV)

A man with too much time on his hands productions

NLA-Entertainment
Previous Thread :: Next Thread 
Goto to page:  Prev Next
 
Movie Maker Forums  > Windows Movie Maker  > Transitions, Effects and Titles  > Re: static splits with borders