[Lights, Camera, Action]

Home    Forums    Tutorials    Search    Books    Links 

Windows Movie Maker tips, tutorials, forums and more...



 
Windows Movie Maker Home   Search   Login   Register   Member List  
Movie Maker Users Showcase  > Share Your Vista Transitions and Effects!!  > Help? Effects won't work    
Previous Thread :: Next Thread 
 Author Thread: Help? Effects won't work
catlvr2 is not online. Last active: 1/2/2010 8:18:35 PM catlvr2
Joined: 21 Dec 2009
Total Posts: 10
 
Help? Effects won't work
Posted: 21 Dec 2009 04:56 PM
Ok so here what I did. I found the code pasted it into notepad saved it (put the XML at the end) Put it in the AddONTFX file in shared. (Correct me if I did anything wrong) but it won't show up (This is for Vista BTW I think I have vista Some other thing I downloaded before said I had vista) I also tried to import it but it still won't show up. At first I tried the Program Files (x86) Where the movie maker was but it didn't work. So I created new folders in the regular program files, but it still didn't work. I also tried the download again and repair thing but that also did not work. What am I doing wrong? Thanks to anyone who helps! It will be greatly appriciated!
neophyte is not online. Last active: 3/9/2018 9:52:14 PM neophyte
neos-world.is-great.org
Top 25 Poster
Forum Moderator
Joined: 08 Aug 2006
Total Posts: 20182
 
Re: Help? Effects won't work
Posted: 21 Dec 2009 10:27 PM
Welcome to the forums.

Check which version of Movie Maker you have by opening Movie Maker and going to the "Help" menu and clicking on "About Windows Movie Maker". Post back with the info listed for the version number.

Also, what effects did you download and try to install? Once we know which ones they are and which version you have, someone should be able to help you to get them to work.


I hear and I forget. I see and I remember. I do and I understand. -- Confucius
catlvr2 is not online. Last active: 1/2/2010 8:18:35 PM catlvr2
Joined: 21 Dec 2009
Total Posts: 10
 
Re: Help? Effects won't work
Posted: 22 Dec 2009 03:02 PM
Well it says I have version 6.1.

I think I only tried two

This one

<TransitionsAndEffects Version="2.8">
<Effects>
<EffectDLL guid="TFX">
<Effect name="Earthquake" iconid="18" guid="Earthquake 0.40" shadermodel="2">
<Param name="Animation" value="FXAge" />
<Param name="FXFile" value="Parity.fx" />
<Param name="Technique" value="FilmAgeOld" />
<Param name="Alpha0" value="TRUE" type="bool" />
<Param name="Alpha1" value="TRUE" type="bool" />
<Param name="NoiseFrequency" value="0.00" />
<Param name="SplotchFrequency" value="0.00" />
<Param name="NoiseLineFrequency" value="0.00" />
<Param name="LintFrequency" value="0.00" />
<Param name="PosterizeLevels" value="0" />
<Param name="ShakeFactor" value="0.40"/>
<Param name="BlurSize" value="0"/>
<Param name="GenerateNoiseTexture" value="0"/>
</Effect>
</EffectDLL>
</Effects>
</TransitionsAndEffects>

and this one

<TransitionsAndEffects Version="2.8">
<Effects>
<EffectDLL guid="ShaderTFX.ShaderEffect">
<Effect name="(C)Electric Black" iconid="0" guid="(C)Electric Black" ShaderModel="2">
<Param name="ShaderFilename" value="Shader.fx"/>
<Param name="Technique" value="SelfGradientEffect"/>
<Semantics>
<Param name="BorderSoftness" type="float" value="35" />
<Param name="BorderColor" type="color" value="black" />
<Param name="BorderWidth" type="float" value="25" />
</Semantics>
</Effect>
<Effect name="(C)Electric Blue" iconid="0" guid="(C)Electric Blue" ShaderModel="2">
<Param name="ShaderFilename" value="Shader.fx"/>
<Param name="Technique" value="SelfGradientEffect"/>
<Semantics>
<Param name="BorderSoftness" type="float" value="15" />
<Param name="BorderColor" type="color" value="blue" />
<Param name="BorderWidth" type="float" value="25" />
</Semantics>
</Effect>
<Effect name="(C)Electric Green" iconid="0" guid="(C)Electric Green" ShaderModel="2">
<Param name="ShaderFilename" value="Shader.fx"/>
<Param name="Technique" value="SelfGradientEffect"/>
<Semantics>
<Param name="BorderSoftness" type="float" value="35" />
<Param name="BorderColor" type="color" value="green" />
<Param name="BorderWidth" type="float" value="15" />
</Semantics>
</Effect>
<Effect name="(C)Electric Red" iconid="0" guid="(C)Electric Red" ShaderModel="2">
<Param name="ShaderFilename" value="Shader.fx"/>
<Param name="Technique" value="SelfGradientEffect"/>
<Semantics>
<Param name="BorderSoftness" type="float" value="35" />
<Param name="BorderColor" type="color" value="red" />
<Param name="BorderWidth" type="float" value="25" />
</Semantics>
</Effect>
<Effect name="(C)Electric White" iconid="0" guid="(C)Electric White" ShaderModel="2">
<Param name="ShaderFilename" value="Shader.fx"/>
<Param name="Technique" value="SelfGradientEffect"/>
<Semantics>
<Param name="BorderSoftness" type="float" value="15" />
<Param name="BorderColor" type="color" value="white" />
<Param name="BorderWidth" type="float" value="25" />
</Semantics>
</Effect>
<Effect name="(C)Electric Yellow" iconid="0" guid="(C)Electric yellow" ShaderModel="2">
<Param name="ShaderFilename" value="Shader.fx"/>
<Param name="Technique" value="SelfGradientEffect"/>
<Semantics>
<Param name="BorderSoftness" type="float" value="35" />
<Param name="BorderColor" type="color" value="yellow" />
<Param name="BorderWidth" type="float" value="25" />
</Semantics>
</Effect>
</EffectDLL>
</Effects>
</TransitionsAndEffects>

Thanks!
XxKakuzuDeidaraXx is not online. Last active: 12/27/2010 6:24:36 PM XxKakuzuDeidaraXx
asianscreeds.webs.com
Top 50 Poster
Joined: 14 Jan 2009
Total Posts: 308
 
Re: Help? Effects won't work
Posted: 22 Dec 2009 08:18 PM
HMM it should work.....
Are you saving them in the C:\Program Files\Movie Maker\Shared\addontfx Folder? Addontfx
If so I will be looking over this.

http://AsiansCreeds.webs.com/
neophyte is not online. Last active: 3/9/2018 9:52:14 PM neophyte
neos-world.is-great.org
Top 25 Poster
Forum Moderator
Joined: 08 Aug 2006
Total Posts: 20182
 
Re: Help? Effects won't work
Posted: 22 Dec 2009 09:54 PM
Double check to make sure you're following the steps detailed in this thread when adding them to Movie Maker.

I hear and I forget. I see and I remember. I do and I understand. -- Confucius
catlvr2 is not online. Last active: 1/2/2010 8:18:35 PM catlvr2
Joined: 21 Dec 2009
Total Posts: 10
 
Re: Help? Effects won't work
Posted: 23 Dec 2009 12:28 AM
Yes checked the thread the steps are correct. (Unless there's something wrong with the floder saying Windows Movie maker 2.6) Checked collectons and transitions nothing it there. Tried importing it but it says no items match your search when I get the contents inside the addontfx folder. I tried to simply drag it in WMM but I got an error message saying it isn't valid.
catlvr2 is not online. Last active: 1/2/2010 8:18:35 PM catlvr2
Joined: 21 Dec 2009
Total Posts: 10
 
Re: Help? Effects won't work
Posted: 23 Dec 2009 12:34 AM
Edit: I got rid of the 2.6 part and it gave me the option to open it in movie maker but I got the following error message

[IMG]http://i48.tinypic.com/2444mu1.png[/IMG]
catlvr2 is not online. Last active: 1/2/2010 8:18:35 PM catlvr2
Joined: 21 Dec 2009
Total Posts: 10
 
Re: Help? Effects won't work
Posted: 23 Dec 2009 12:40 AM
Whoops sorry I guess pictures don't work here

ok it says something like

It's not a valid file and to import pictures, music, documents ect use import but it won't work with that either because the file isn't showing up even if I move it to documents or something else
Butterfliesxo is not online. Last active: 2/22/2010 5:10:13 PM Butterfliesxo
Joined: 20 Dec 2009
Total Posts: 12
 
Re: Help? Effects won't work
Posted: 23 Dec 2009 06:23 AM
that happend to me once, but after a month the effects showed up!
^_^

Emily was here!
XxKakuzuDeidaraXx is not online. Last active: 12/27/2010 6:24:36 PM XxKakuzuDeidaraXx
asianscreeds.webs.com
Top 50 Poster
Joined: 14 Jan 2009
Total Posts: 308
 
Re: Help? Effects won't work
Posted: 24 Dec 2009 10:06 AM
Are you sure they are .xml?

http://AsiansCreeds.webs.com/
PatrickL is not online. Last active: 4/15/2018 4:34:22 PM PatrickL
pleabo.home.comcast.net
Top 25 Poster
Joined: 31 Jul 2005
Total Posts: 1305
 
Re: Help? Effects won't work
Posted: 24 Dec 2009 11:15 AM
After reading this thread a bit, Maybe catlvr2 has version 2.6 of MovieMaker. If so, these XMLs won't work.

Also, if there is an x86 folder, it probably is a Vista 64 bit, and if catlvr is using the 6.0 MM, then the ShaderTFX must be the 64 bit version.

In the About Dialog there would be either:

Windows r Movie Maker Version 6.0.xxxxx (Vista where the XML should have Version="2.8")

Windows r Movie Maker Version 2.6.xxxxx (Old XP Version where the XML should have Version="1.0")

Be sure to identify which Version it is for more help. 6.1 isn't a valid MM version number.

PatrickL

DPL Freeware Effects and Transitions for Vista MM Website
catlvr2 is not online. Last active: 1/2/2010 8:18:35 PM catlvr2
Joined: 21 Dec 2009
Total Posts: 10
 
Re: Help? Effects won't work
Posted: 26 Dec 2009 11:55 PM
Yeah I think I have 2.6 I tried looking for 6.0 online but no luck. Where do I find it? Do you have to buy it online or in a store or something like that?

BTW I got this hardrive with windows 7 on it It originally had not movie maker so I downloaded 2.6
RobertJ is not online. Last active: 9/30/2017 9:07:06 AM RobertJ
Joined: 04 Nov 2009
Total Posts: 175
 
Re: Help? Effects won't work
Posted: 27 Dec 2009 08:18 AM
At the end of this thread >> http://www.windowsmoviemakers.net/Forums/ShowPost.aspx?PostID=215872
is a link to instructions on how to download the Vista version to Win 7.
I have not used it, I copied mine to an external drive and reinstalled it after I upgraded to Win 7.
catlvr2 is not online. Last active: 1/2/2010 8:18:35 PM catlvr2
Joined: 21 Dec 2009
Total Posts: 10
 
Re: Help? Effects won't work
Posted: 28 Dec 2009 11:13 PM
Okay so I got the WMM and tried downloading the effect again. Where am I suppossed to find it? I tried import but nothing showed up.
neophyte is not online. Last active: 3/9/2018 9:52:14 PM neophyte
neos-world.is-great.org
Top 25 Poster
Forum Moderator
Joined: 08 Aug 2006
Total Posts: 20182
 
Re: Help? Effects won't work
Posted: 29 Dec 2009 09:22 PM
Once you've added the xml file to the AddOnTFX folder, you should find the effects you just added listed in the Movie Maker list of effects. You do not need or want to import the xml file into Movie Maker.

If the effects don't show up, post back with which version of Movie Maker you installed on your Windows 7 machine.

I hear and I forget. I see and I remember. I do and I understand. -- Confucius
catlvr2 is not online. Last active: 1/2/2010 8:18:35 PM catlvr2
Joined: 21 Dec 2009
Total Posts: 10
 
Re: Help? Effects won't work
Posted: 02 Jan 2010 04:27 PM
Ok Good news I downloaded the correct program and SOME of the effects work. The earthquake one works fine however the electric lights one doesn't whenever I add one of those effects it turns the clip black. I was wondering if I need to save each color seperatly. Also there is a (C) in front of the effect name on movie maker. So it reads something like

(C)Electric Black

Any reason for this?

Thanks for helping! I'll try some more effects sence I know it can work.
catlvr2 is not online. Last active: 1/2/2010 8:18:35 PM catlvr2
Joined: 21 Dec 2009
Total Posts: 10
 
Re: Help? Effects won't work
Posted: 02 Jan 2010 08:17 PM
Oh wait nevermind I know why. This thread can be locked or deleted or something....
AlexRules1234 is not online. Last active: 10/29/2017 3:12:28 AM AlexRules1234
Joined: 28 Oct 2017
Total Posts: 9
 
Re: Help? Effects won't work
Posted: 28 Oct 2017 09:47 AM
yeah. whatever.
Previous Thread :: Next Thread 
Page 1 of 1
 
Movie Maker Forums  > Movie Maker Users Showcase  > Share Your Vista Transitions and Effects!!  > Help? Effects won't work