[Lights, Camera, Action]

Home    Forums    Tutorials    Search    Books    Links 

Windows Movie Maker tips, tutorials, forums and more...



 
Windows Movie Maker Home   Search   Login   Register   Member List  
Windows Movie Maker  > Transitions, Effects and Titles  > Inserting blank space?    
Previous Thread :: Next Thread 
 Author Thread: Inserting blank space?
morepower4me is not online. Last active: 1/15/2008 6:49:47 PM morepower4me
Joined: 01 Apr 2007
Total Posts: 7
 
Inserting blank space?
Posted: 15 Jan 2008 11:27 AM
Hello Moviemaker experts!

I am trying to insert some black (black) space between two clips (just having music play.)
Every time I try this (either by getting a 'snapshot' of black from the previwe screen, or by making a black picture in photoshop) I can enter it into the timeline, and when I try to play the preview it won't play. It just doesn't respond when I press play.

If I delete the picture from the timeline, everything is back to normal.

Any ideas of how I can get some dead air?

Also - if this is somehow related. When I closed my program down last night, I just watched my video in the preview screen, patted myself on the back, and turned off my computer. When I open my program today, the video won't play (same thing as above - program working, it just doesn't play.) I saved my project as a Windows movie to my desktop and that plays perfectly. But I just can't play it on my timeline / preview.
Any ideas??

Thanks!

(I am using an Intel T7500 C2D laptop with 2gb RAM and Vista Premium if that makes a difference.)
considerate_guy is online. Last active: 7/30/2014 7:10:40 PM considerate_guy
movies.blainesville.com
Top 25 Poster
Forum Moderator
Joined: 23 Mar 2005
Total Posts: 23934
 
Re: Inserting blank space?
Posted: 15 Jan 2008 11:37 AM
Hmm... what video card does your laptop have? Can you get a "slideshow" of images to work? Is it just this single black screen that doesn't work?

One workaround, if the image doesn't work is to create a title. Type a space (hit the spacebar once) for the text, choose 'Basic Animation' for the animation type and choose black for the background color.

Blaine
Movie Maker (Custom Titles, Effects. etc.)Cool
WMM 6.0 on Windows 7 or 8
YouTube videos
morepower4me is not online. Last active: 1/15/2008 6:49:47 PM morepower4me
Joined: 01 Apr 2007
Total Posts: 7
 
Re: Inserting blank space?
Posted: 15 Jan 2008 12:17 PM
It is the newer DX10 compatible Intel integrated.

I think I tried the basic transition 1st and that may have caused the greif...
I am thinking that the video file isn't corrupted because it will transfer to a 'movie', could there be a setting I goofedthat won't let me use preview anymore? It doesn't even seem to let me add new material to it either....

I am going to play with it now and see if I can get the slideshow to work.

Thanks!!!

morepower4me is not online. Last active: 1/15/2008 6:49:47 PM morepower4me
Joined: 01 Apr 2007
Total Posts: 7
 
Re: Inserting blank space?
Posted: 15 Jan 2008 12:24 PM
OK. I checked, and if I click on just a video clip (at the top left) and not my timeline, it plays just fine. But if I am in my timeline and try to play it, it won't.

I have about 8 video clips, 12 pictures, 25-ish transitions, 1 title overlay and 1 song in there currently.
considerate_guy is online. Last active: 7/30/2014 7:10:40 PM considerate_guy
movies.blainesville.com
Top 25 Poster
Forum Moderator
Joined: 23 Mar 2005
Total Posts: 23934
 
Re: Inserting blank space?
Posted: 15 Jan 2008 01:42 PM
What are the formats of your video clips? Are they DV-AVI from your camcorder? Or WMV format? Or are they from another source? Also, what's the format of your music?

Blaine
Movie Maker (Custom Titles, Effects. etc.)Cool
WMM 6.0 on Windows 7 or 8
YouTube videos
morepower4me is not online. Last active: 1/15/2008 6:49:47 PM morepower4me
Joined: 01 Apr 2007
Total Posts: 7
 
Re: Inserting blank space?
Posted: 15 Jan 2008 02:25 PM
OK, I think I figured it out, let me know if this makes sense.

I used that saved version I had, and just started building on top of it. Not an ideal solution, but close enough. I added another 5 minutes worthof stuff, and then I got stuck again. What I think did it, was adding transitions between video clips.

When I add transitions, it freezes in the timeline view. When I take them out, it works again.

Could that be??
ccsonyoutube is not online. Last active: 12/18/2010 3:39:19 PM ccsonyoutube
www.youtube.com
Top 100 Poster
Joined: 01 Sep 2007
Total Posts: 176
 
Re: Inserting blank space?
Posted: 18 Jan 2008 07:36 PM
Is your video card compatible with Vista?
Normally, it is because of incompatibility.

E-mail me at: ccsconnorscomputershow@gmail.com
Need files converted? Use my email, but be sure it is less than 20 MB because Gmail only takes that limit ingoing and outgoing email.
WMM 2.1, XP SP3, 1 GB RAM
bradyproductions is not online. Last active: 7/28/2009 4:58:17 AM bradyproductions
Joined: 05 Mar 2007
Total Posts: 199
 
Re: Inserting blank space?
Posted: 30 Jan 2008 08:33 AM
this is SO easy

dont know why people are thinking so hard!


just split the clip

click 'add text before clip'

make the background black, and 'enter text'

for text just add the space bar


now you have a plain black background... so called 'title'

just drag it as long as you want it!
bradyproductions is not online. Last active: 7/28/2009 4:58:17 AM bradyproductions
Joined: 05 Mar 2007
Total Posts: 199
 
Re: Inserting blank space?
Posted: 30 Jan 2008 08:34 AM
PS as for your problem


if you have installed either

Nero 7
OR Windows Media Player 11


both of these programs completely cause Windows Movie Maker (among other things)
to malfunction
Previous Thread :: Next Thread 
Page 1 of 1
 
Movie Maker Forums  > Windows Movie Maker  > Transitions, Effects and Titles  > Inserting blank space?