[Lights, Camera, Action]

Home    Forums    Tutorials    Search    Books    Links 

Windows Movie Maker tips, tutorials, forums and more...



 
Windows Movie Maker Home   Search   Login   Register   Member List  
Movie Maker Users Showcase  > Share Your Vista Transitions and Effects!!  > Need help creating overlay in vista.    
Previous Thread :: Next Thread 
 Author Thread: Need help creating overlay in vista.
fizzynat is not online. Last active: 3/26/2008 3:41:45 PM fizzynat
Joined: 11 Apr 2007
Total Posts: 5
 
Need help creating overlay in vista.
Posted: 11 Apr 2007 07:09 PM
I wanted to create the bond credits with the gun barrel as an overlay while the video is playing behind and you can see it through the hole. I have just got a new computer with Vista so the xml files I had for the XP version (which worked perfectly) of WMM don't work. I have no idea how to create a xml file so any help would be appreciated. I've created the AddOnTFX folder and I have the image, its just the code thats got me stuck.
the image is called bond.png
thank you.
considerate_guy is not online. Last active: 8/7/2015 5:49:08 PM considerate_guy
movies.blainesville.com
Top 25 Poster
Forum Moderator
Joined: 23 Mar 2005
Total Posts: 24219
 
Re: Need help creating overlay in vista.
Posted: 11 Apr 2007 07:33 PM
Can you post the XP XML code you had? Or a reference to where you found it?

Blaine
Movie Maker (Custom Titles, Effects. etc.)Cool
WMM 6.0 on Windows 7 or 8
YouTube videos
fizzynat is not online. Last active: 3/26/2008 3:41:45 PM fizzynat
Joined: 11 Apr 2007
Total Posts: 5
 
Re: Need help creating overlay in vista.
Posted: 12 Apr 2007 05:51 AM
- <TransitionsAndEffects Version="1.0" SpecialIconFileID="1033" SpecialIconResourceID="101">
- <Effects>
- <EffectDLL guid="{0BEDE179-3361-4eea-9058-11CBB1739D50}">
- <Effect name="James Bond Overlay" iconid="0">
<Param name="BorderA" value="C:\Program Files\Movie Maker\Shared\AddOnTFX\bond.png" />
</Effect>
</EffectDLL>
</Effects>
</TransitionsAndEffects>

this is the code that i have for the XP version.
considerate_guy is not online. Last active: 8/7/2015 5:49:08 PM considerate_guy
movies.blainesville.com
Top 25 Poster
Forum Moderator
Joined: 23 Mar 2005
Total Posts: 24219
 
Re: Need help creating overlay in vista.
Posted: 12 Apr 2007 11:11 AM
This is a PIP+ effect and PIP+ hasn't been updated by Rehan to work with Vista (yet). You could do a similar thing but doing it as a title in Vista. Would that be okay?

Blaine
Movie Maker (Custom Titles, Effects. etc.)Cool
WMM 6.0 on Windows 7 or 8
YouTube videos
fizzynat is not online. Last active: 3/26/2008 3:41:45 PM fizzynat
Joined: 11 Apr 2007
Total Posts: 5
 
Re: Need help creating overlay in vista.
Posted: 12 Apr 2007 11:18 AM
Would I still be able to see video footage through the gun barrel?
Anything that will get this type of effect to work would be great, even as a title its fine.
thank you!
considerate_guy is not online. Last active: 8/7/2015 5:49:08 PM considerate_guy
movies.blainesville.com
Top 25 Poster
Forum Moderator
Joined: 23 Mar 2005
Total Posts: 24219
 
Re: Need help creating overlay in vista.
Posted: 12 Apr 2007 12:02 PM
Here's the XML you would need. Copy/paste this into Notepad and save it to your Documents folder as bond.xml. Download bond.png. Then copy both the .xml and the .png file to C:\Program Files\Movie Maker\Shared\AddOnTFX.

<TransitionsAndEffects Version="2.8">
<Titles>
<TitleDLL guid="TFX">
<Title name="James Bond Overlay" iconid="13" guid="James Bond Overlay">
<Param name="Animation" value="TitleStandard"/>
<Param name="LogoBitmapFilename" value="AddOnTFX/bond.png"/>
<Param name="LogoRect" value="0.0 0.0 1.0 1.0"/>
<Paragraph>
<Param name="IsOneLine" value="true"/>
<Param name="BoundingRect" value="0.05 0.85 0.9 0.1"/>
<Param name="MaxCharacterCount" value="32"/>
</Paragraph>
</Title>
</TitleDLL>
</Titles>
</TransitionsAndEffects>


When you create the title, choose 'Tools' > 'Titles & Credits' and place it on the selected clip. For the text, type a single space. For the animation, choose 'James Bond Overlay'. Stretch it to match the length of time you want it to appear.

Blaine
Movie Maker (Custom Titles, Effects. etc.)Cool
WMM 6.0 on Windows 7 or 8
YouTube videos
fizzynat is not online. Last active: 3/26/2008 3:41:45 PM fizzynat
Joined: 11 Apr 2007
Total Posts: 5
 
Re: Need help creating overlay in vista.
Posted: 12 Apr 2007 12:14 PM
thank you so much for your help, it works perfectly.
considerate_guy is not online. Last active: 8/7/2015 5:49:08 PM considerate_guy
movies.blainesville.com
Top 25 Poster
Forum Moderator
Joined: 23 Mar 2005
Total Posts: 24219
 
Re: Need help creating overlay in vista.
Posted: 12 Apr 2007 12:19 PM
Glad to know... thanks for the update.

Blaine
Movie Maker (Custom Titles, Effects. etc.)Cool
WMM 6.0 on Windows 7 or 8
YouTube videos
TheOnePb is not online. Last active: 4/3/2010 8:23:13 AM TheOnePb
youtube.com
Top 50 Poster
Joined: 15 Nov 2007
Total Posts: 520
 
Re: Need help creating overlay in vista.
Posted: 16 Nov 2007 09:18 AM
Please post the image, so other people can use this title tooSmiley

TheOnePb

Movie Maker 6.0 on Windows 7 + ShaderTFX, registeredSmiley
http://youtube.com/profile?user=TheOnePb1
fizzynat is not online. Last active: 3/26/2008 3:41:45 PM fizzynat
Joined: 11 Apr 2007
Total Posts: 5
 
Re: Need help creating overlay in vista.
Posted: 16 Nov 2007 11:23 AM
Go to this link, then save the .png file in your AddOnTFX folder (for Vista).
http://i75.photobucket.com/albums/i311/fizzynat/bond.png
TheOnePb is not online. Last active: 4/3/2010 8:23:13 AM TheOnePb
youtube.com
Top 50 Poster
Joined: 15 Nov 2007
Total Posts: 520
 
Re: Need help creating overlay in vista.
Posted: 17 Nov 2007 01:24 PM
GREAT!
Wow, tight!
Thanks

TheOnePb

Movie Maker 6.0 on Windows 7 + ShaderTFX, registeredSmiley
http://youtube.com/profile?user=TheOnePb1
MasterCheese is not online. Last active: 12/28/2008 3:36:12 PM MasterCheese
Joined: 11 Mar 2008
Total Posts: 58
 
Re: Need help creating overlay in vista.
Posted: 25 Mar 2008 08:09 PM
if you opened it in paint then put green over the hole and used greenscreen it would work without xml

Vista is da bombSmileyWWW.freewebs.com/moviemakersource/
considerate_guy is not online. Last active: 8/7/2015 5:49:08 PM considerate_guy
movies.blainesville.com
Top 25 Poster
Forum Moderator
Joined: 23 Mar 2005
Total Posts: 24219
 
Re: Need help creating overlay in vista.
Posted: 26 Mar 2008 03:24 PM
Greenscreen could work, although then you would have to transition it with the clip and it isn't possible to fully overlap two clips. That leaves a couple frames before or after that you would need to trim on a second pass. Transitions also affect the sound track causing it to fade in or out.

Blaine
Movie Maker (Custom Titles, Effects. etc.)Cool
WMM 6.0 on Windows 7 or 8
YouTube videos
Zr-rZ is not online. Last active: 10/19/2008 5:04:37 PM Zr-rZ
www.youtube.com
Joined: 09 Aug 2008
Total Posts: 58
 
Re: Need help creating overlay in vista.
Posted: 14 Aug 2008 01:35 PM
nice ;D

(\__/)watch out
(='.'=)the evil bunnehs
(")_(")are watching you
Pondy is not online. Last active: 8/18/2010 9:16:21 AM Pondy
Joined: 18 Aug 2010
Total Posts: 3
 
Re: Need help creating overlay in vista.
Posted: 18 Aug 2010 08:59 AM
Thanks! i search that :heart:
ChrisLim is not online. Last active: 7/14/2013 7:48:49 AM ChrisLim
Joined: 23 Jan 2012
Total Posts: 10
 
Re: Need help creating overlay in vista.
Posted: 28 Jan 2012 11:26 PM
How come it is all black no title, can u explain one more time pls, do I have to import the png.picture to make it work. Thanks
dickmr is not online. Last active: 3/26/2017 11:43:26 PM dickmr
Top 25 Poster
Joined: 10 Oct 2005
Total Posts: 3100
 
Re: Need help creating overlay in vista.
Posted: 30 Jan 2012 10:50 PM
Hi. You don't have to import the image to make the title work. Open up the image from one of the links in the above posts. Right click on the image and choose 'save picture as' ...be certain it is named 'bond' and is in .png format.... save it to the AddOnTFX folder at....
C:\Program Files\Movie Maker\Shared\AddOnTFX

The image and the xml code will both be in the same folder. The title should then work as stated when you choose it in titles and credits. Good luck.
.
ChrisLim is not online. Last active: 7/14/2013 7:48:49 AM ChrisLim
Joined: 23 Jan 2012
Total Posts: 10
 
Re: Need help creating overlay in vista.
Posted: 15 Feb 2012 04:49 PM
Hi
This is Chris again,the bond overlay doesn't seem to work, i save it in Program file x86 on the AddOnTFX folder instead of the Program file. I save all effects, etc in Program file x86. Thanks.
considerate_guy is not online. Last active: 8/7/2015 5:49:08 PM considerate_guy
movies.blainesville.com
Top 25 Poster
Forum Moderator
Joined: 23 Mar 2005
Total Posts: 24219
 
Re: Need help creating overlay in vista.
Posted: 15 Feb 2012 04:54 PM
And what is the name of the image file? And where is it stored?

Blaine
Movie Maker (Custom Titles, Effects. etc.)Cool
WMM 6.0 on Windows 7 or 8
YouTube videos
ChrisLim is not online. Last active: 7/14/2013 7:48:49 AM ChrisLim
Joined: 23 Jan 2012
Total Posts: 10
 
Re: Need help creating overlay in vista.
Posted: 15 Feb 2012 08:12 PM
Hi Guy

The name of the image-Bond and store it in Program file (86) under AddONTFX folder. Can U pls tell me how to use it, I want the video through the hole. Thanks.
considerate_guy is not online. Last active: 8/7/2015 5:49:08 PM considerate_guy
movies.blainesville.com
Top 25 Poster
Forum Moderator
Joined: 23 Mar 2005
Total Posts: 24219
 
Re: Need help creating overlay in vista.
Posted: 15 Feb 2012 08:20 PM
Chris,

Why are you using a 32-bit version of WMM 6.0 on a 64-bit version of Windows? You should have the matching version (see my signature).

If you have the matching version, your Movie Maker will be install in C:\Program Files\Movie Maker and all the steps above will work.

When you create the title, choose 'Tools' > 'Titles & Credits' and place it on the selected clip. For the text, type a single space. For the animation, choose 'James Bond Overlay'. Stretch it to match the length of time you want it to appear.

Blaine
Movie Maker (Custom Titles, Effects. etc.)Cool
WMM 6.0 on Windows 7 or 8
YouTube videos
ChrisLim is not online. Last active: 7/14/2013 7:48:49 AM ChrisLim
Joined: 23 Jan 2012
Total Posts: 10
 
Re: Need help creating overlay in vista.
Posted: 24 Feb 2012 08:59 PM
Hi Considerate guy,

I've no idea whether it's 32-bit or 64-bit version, somebody download it for me but I notice all the effects and transitions are in the program 86 folder. Sorry I 'm new with WMM but how do I know whether 32-bit or 64-bit. Some of thr effect and transitions work and some don't.
considerate_guy is not online. Last active: 8/7/2015 5:49:08 PM considerate_guy
movies.blainesville.com
Top 25 Poster
Forum Moderator
Joined: 23 Mar 2005
Total Posts: 24219
 
Re: Need help creating overlay in vista.
Posted: 25 Feb 2012 10:35 AM
If you have a 32-bit version on a 64-bit version of Windows, the program ends up in C:\Program Files (x86) while many installers try to install in the expected folder under C:\Program Files

I guess you can stick with the 32-bit version, but you'll constantly be encountering installers that put things in the other folder location.

Blaine
Movie Maker (Custom Titles, Effects. etc.)Cool
WMM 6.0 on Windows 7 or 8
YouTube videos
ChrisLim is not online. Last active: 7/14/2013 7:48:49 AM ChrisLim
Joined: 23 Jan 2012
Total Posts: 10
 
Re: Need help creating overlay in vista.
Posted: 25 Feb 2012 04:43 PM
So, can I use the Bond overlay with the video going through the hole. Can I download the 64-bits WMM but I still have videos in WMM which I 've not edited yet. What is the best way then? Thanks.
Previous Thread :: Next Thread 
Page 1 of 1
 
Movie Maker Forums  > Movie Maker Users Showcase  > Share Your Vista Transitions and Effects!!  > Need help creating overlay in vista.